The Way It Makes Us Glow

Here I am at Day 97, astonished that I’m here and simultaneously shocked it took so long to get to this point. I will be out of town for my 100th day – getting my tattoo finished, actually. It was on Day 60 that I got the tattoo in the first place! It feels symbolic that it will be completed on my final day of the 100 Day Challenge.

I’ve had 3 major thoughts over the last couple of days:

  1. Continuing sobriety after Day 100 is simply a given. I have worked too hard, come too far and am enjoying life too much to go back to the bottle.
  2. Every single day, I become more and more confident in ways I hadn’t anticipated. i.e. noticing I was overcharged and asking for a reimbursement even though it was only $5, asking the loud-talker behind me at the movies to please refrain from shouting his every observation, putting myself and my writing “out there”, talking honestly with my husband about my addiction.
  3. I am more excited about the future than I have ever been.

It is mind-blowing that it now feels normal to sit down with girlfriends, watch trashy TV and drink soda water. Afternoons spent with friends or my husband are not interrupted by my need to find a bar. It’s easier to stay up later, get up earlier and just BE!

There are so many reasons to be happy that I’ve forgotten to be anxious. It’s a new and welcome feeling.

2 thoughts on “The Way It Makes Us Glow

  1. Sincere Congratulations and thank you for the inspiration. Day 10 here -1/10
    the through 100 Day Challenge! I’ll be watching for your Day 100…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

