The Long Sleep

I have been complaining about EXHAUSTION for awhile now. I originally thought it’d go away, and I’d start to feel boundless energy from all of the not drinking I’m doing. However, that hasn’t happened.

With all of this in mind, I decided to make an appointment with my doctor. The appointment went well, we talked for awhile about most everything, and she prescribed a blood draw. I got the results of that blood draw last Friday and lo and behold I have MONO. Yes, the kissing disease. It was a wonderful way to kick off the holiday weekend! Sarcasm, sarcasm.

The holiday weekend also coincided with the bachelorette party of a good friend. Truthfully, I did not feel tempted to drink even once and I was so relieved. It was mostly because I was tired; the mono was a little blessing in disguise. Oddly enough.

I stayed home from work on Tuesday and Wednesday and plan on doing half days today and tomorrow. The amount of sleep my body is currently requiring is out of this world! I had no idea I was capable of actual, restful sleep for more than 12-14 hours at a time. I feel like I am in a time warp – I’m losing so many days!

This muddled sensation brings me back to my early days of sobriety (Can I even say that? 43 Days still seems early…). The first week of not drinking was like walking around in a clear haze. That is, everything around me was crystal clear, but my brain was foggy. It was waiting for booze to jump-start it. I used to feel like I was a step behind until I was 2 drinks in and then I was unstoppable! That first week was disorienting. This sixth week is also disorienting, but not because of booze, my desire for it or my body and brain’s dependence on it.

I am happy that there is a clear reason for my intense fatigue. I am also happy that any instruction to not drink is moot. I feel like I will be able to actually rest and come out of this with the renewed energy I have been waiting for!

2 thoughts on “The Long Sleep

Leave a Reply

